Navdeep Saini demerit point: The Indian fast bowler has been found guilty of breaching ICC’s Code of Conduct last night.
“Navdeep [Saini] is from Delhi, he’s come a long way. Plays the IPL as well, had a great season. Raw talent, hardly any bowlers who can bowl 150 clicks, hopefully he builds on from here,” India captain Virat Kohli was quoted as saying about Saini’s performance on debut.
Not many can bowl a maiden last over. 👌
Superb job on your debut, Navdeep. pic.twitter.com/MRvGbQCSyf
— Shikhar Dhawan (@SDhawan25) August 3, 2019
Navdeep Saini demerit point
During his impact-generating spell in the first T20I, Saini ended up crossing the line after getting his first wicket in West Indies wicket-keeper batsman Nicholas Pooran. After the dismissal happened, Saini gave a send-off to the West Indian which seemed to be outside the acceptable limit.
Saini was found guilty of violating Article 2.5 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel. The right-arm fast bowler was handed a demerit point for his send-off that “could provoke an aggressive reaction from a batter upon their dismissal”.
It is believed that Saini accepted the offence handed to him by the match referee. Therefore, there was no need for a formal hearing.
Talking about his performance in the rain-affected second T20I last night, Saini ended up giving 27 runs in the three overs which he bowled. While he remained wicket-less in his second outing, expect him to play the third T20I on the tour as well.